Left to right: 2019 Crown Leadership Award Winners Ray Meyers, Ben Walker, Claudia Riegel, Gene White and Tom Jarzynka.

At NPMA PestWorld in October, PCT and Syngenta recognized five pest management industry professionals as 2019 Crown Leadership Award winners. This year’s class is the 31st class (more than 260 individuals) to be honored since the awards’ inception.

“This year, as well as for nearly a quarter century, it has been our privilege to share your stories — more than 200 in all — with the pest management industry at this annual reception and through the pages of the special Crown Leadership Awards edition of PCT magazine,” said PCT Publisher Dan Moreland. “It’s a responsibility we take very seriously because it’s your life; it’s your reputation; it’s your legacy to the pest management industry.”

Moreland then introduced the 2019 winners:

  • Tom Jarzynka, Massey Services, Orlando, Fla.
  • Ray Meyers, RJM Contracting, Lake Mary, Fla.
  • Claudia Riegel, City of New Orleans Mosquito, Termite & Rodent Control Board, New Orleans, La.
  • Ben Walker, Gregory Pest Solutions, Greenville, S.C.
  • Gene White, Rentokil Steritech, White Lake, Mich.

Since 1988, the Crown Leadership Awards have been presented annually to pest management professionals, university educators, industry distributors and association officials who uphold the highest standards of industry ethics, while contributing their time and talent to a broad range of professional and civic organizations.

Also at the ceremony, PCT and Syngenta annually present a “Lifetime Achievement Award” to a past Crown Leadership Award winner, as voted on by previous honorees. This year’s honoree was Vic Hammel, longtime leader of JC Ehrlich Co., and later Rentokil North America.


Select the video below for a selection of images from the event.